A password-protected directory is a folder that cannot be accessed unless the correct login credentials are supplied. This can be an entire website or just a single page that's located in a subfolder. If you try to open this type of a directory, you'll see a web browser pop-up where you will need to type a username and also a password. If you input the correct ones, you will be able to continue browsing the content without needing to do anything extra. If the login details are not right, however, you will see a note that you are not permitted to see the content. If this option is activated, you will not be able to open a file even when you have a direct link. The feature is very practical if you wish to restrict the access to some content or if you are creating a site and you don't want visitors to be able to access it prior to it being ready.

Password Protected Directories in Shared Hosting

All our shared hosting include a very convenient tool which will allow you to shield any folder within your account from unauthorized access with only two clicks. As soon as you log in to your Hepsia hosting Control Panel, you will just have to go to the Password Protection section, to select the main domain or subdomain, to specify the folder which needs to be secured - the root folder or some folder under it, and then to type the username and the password that must be used so as to access the content in question. The feature will be activated straightaway, so in case you try to open the folder/website, you'll be prompted to input the login information. You can create or remove numerous usernames for the very same folder, if needed. When you check out the File Manager section, all password-protected folders shall be shown with a compact padlock icon.

Password Protected Directories in Semi-dedicated Servers

If you have a semi-dedicated server account with our company, you will be able to protect any content that you've uploaded using our protection tool. Its interface is as simple and intuitive as that of the Hepsia CP it is part of, so you'll not have to write any code at any time. You will only need to pick one of the domains/subdomains which you have inside the website hosting account and to determine which folder must be password-protected - the website’s root folder or some folder below it. After that you can input the username and the password, which will be stored in encrypted form in our system, and you will be good to go. The protection shall be switched on at once, so anyone that tries to access the newly secured folder will have to input the right login details. When a number of individuals must be able to open the exact same content, you could make a separate username for each one.